Skip to main content
deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Urb
  • 2.6k
  • 4
  • 14
  • 26

A Primerprimer on Topological Solitonstopological solitons in Scalar Field Theoriesscalar field theories

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained, in the sense, that it also explains the mathematics needed (At, at least to some extend.)extent. It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions, so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know Linear Algebralinear algebra, Calculuscalculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no formal knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

A Primer on Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained in the sense, that it also explains the mathematics needed (At least to some extend.). It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions, so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know Linear Algebra, Calculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no formal knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

A primer on topological solitons in scalar field theories

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained, in the sense that it also explains the mathematics needed, at least to some extent. It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions, so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know linear algebra, calculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no formal knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
AlmostClueless
  • 2.2k
  • 2
  • 9
  • 28

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained in the sense, that it also explains the mathematics needed (At least to some extend.). It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions, so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know Linear Algebra, basic Calculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). So I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no formal knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained in the sense, that it also explains the mathematics needed (At least to some extend.). It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know Linear Algebra, basic Calculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). So I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

As the title suggests I want to learn more about topological solitons in scalar field theories. I am searching for a resource which is self-contained in the sense, that it also explains the mathematics needed (At least to some extend.). It should be a text for physicists. My main goal is to learn about skyrmions, so it would be nice if skyrmions are covered. But this is optional, so if there is a good primer on topological solitons not covering skyrmions this would be fine too.

To be more precise about the "self-containedness" of the source I should maybe give some information about my maths background. I do know Linear Algebra, Calculus and some "group and representation theory" (in the way it is used by physicists, so no in-depth knowledge here). I have very little prior knowledge of topology and almost no formal knowledge about differential geometry (Here also superficial knowledge from physics lectures.).

I do already know the book "Topological and Non-Topological Solitons in Scalar Field Theories" by Y.M. Shnir. This book gives a good overview, but I miss some mathematical details.

edited tags
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Notice added Book Recommendation by Qmechanic
edited title
Link
AlmostClueless
  • 2.2k
  • 2
  • 9
  • 28
Loading
Post Made Community Wiki by Qmechanic
Source Link
AlmostClueless
  • 2.2k
  • 2
  • 9
  • 28
Loading