Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
deleted 2 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Urb
  • 2.6k
  • 4
  • 14
  • 26

Lenz Lawlaw - Direction of Induced Currentinduced current

I understand the Lenz Law is such that it tells us that the induced current must be in a direction that makes the end of the solenoid facing the magnet behave as a North Pole to repel the magnet’s North Pole thus it’sits motion is opposed. Since Lenz’s law is a consequence of the principle of the conservation of energy. A magnet that is pushed into the coil is repelled. What I can’t seem to understand is the direction of the induced current. I’ve been told that the direction is clockwise, not counter clockwise-clockwise. A teacher told me to use the Right Hand Grip Rule, but the way how I see it when I do it, I am seeing it in the counter clockwisecounterclockwise direction. The question is: looking from the AC end, what is the direction of the induced current?. Can someone please explain to me how the induced current is going in the clockwise direction?

enter image description here

enter image description here

Lenz Law - Direction of Induced Current

I understand the Lenz Law is such that it tells us that the induced current must be in a direction that makes the end of the solenoid facing the magnet behave as a North Pole to repel the magnet’s North Pole thus it’s motion is opposed. Since Lenz’s law is a consequence of the principle of the conservation of energy. A magnet that is pushed into the coil is repelled. What I can’t seem to understand is the direction of the induced current. I’ve been told that the direction is clockwise, not counter clockwise. A teacher told me to use the Right Hand Grip Rule, but the way how I see it when I do it, I am seeing it in the counter clockwise direction. The question is: looking from the AC end, what is the direction of the induced current. Can someone please explain to me how the induced current is going in the clockwise direction?

enter image description here

enter image description here

Lenz law - Direction of induced current

I understand the Lenz Law is such that it tells us that the induced current must be in a direction that makes the end of the solenoid facing the magnet behave as a North Pole to repel the magnet’s North Pole thus its motion is opposed. Since Lenz’s law is a consequence of the principle of the conservation of energy. A magnet that is pushed into the coil is repelled. What I can’t seem to understand is the direction of the induced current. I’ve been told that the direction is clockwise, not counter-clockwise. A teacher told me to use the Right Hand Grip Rule, but the way how I see it when I do it, I am seeing it in the counterclockwise direction. The question is: looking from the AC end, what is the direction of the induced current? Can someone please explain to me how the induced current is going in the clockwise direction?

enter image description here

enter image description here

edited tags
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Source Link

Lenz Law - Direction of Induced Current

I understand the Lenz Law is such that it tells us that the induced current must be in a direction that makes the end of the solenoid facing the magnet behave as a North Pole to repel the magnet’s North Pole thus it’s motion is opposed. Since Lenz’s law is a consequence of the principle of the conservation of energy. A magnet that is pushed into the coil is repelled. What I can’t seem to understand is the direction of the induced current. I’ve been told that the direction is clockwise, not counter clockwise. A teacher told me to use the Right Hand Grip Rule, but the way how I see it when I do it, I am seeing it in the counter clockwise direction. The question is: looking from the AC end, what is the direction of the induced current. Can someone please explain to me how the induced current is going in the clockwise direction?

enter image description here

enter image description here