Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 18, 2020 at 2:59 history undeleted Timothy
Jun 18, 2020 at 2:59 history edited Timothy CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 103 characters in body
Dec 28, 2019 at 2:22 history edited Timothy CC BY-SA 4.0
edited body
Dec 13, 2019 at 20:43 history deleted Timothy via Vote
Dec 13, 2019 at 18:08 comment added Timothy @Ruslan I thought the bucket was a short bucket but I guess I was wrong. Maybe you're right and I cannot tell by observation that liquid nitrogen is more transparent. I think they also sometimes tile the floor of a swimming pool blue making water look bluer than it is.
Dec 13, 2019 at 18:00 comment added Timothy really look even in the presence of after images.
Dec 13, 2019 at 18:00 comment added Timothy about how it would have looked without the mist. I think it can be explained by the amazing power of the brain to adapt to the moving mist. I really think the brain can do things like that for some people. I've sometimes noticed that the sky appeared to be a featureless blue and then when I slowly moved by eyes by doing something like walking while looking at a power line, I could see extremely faint clouds. That's probably because my brains knows how negative after images work and when my eyes are continuously moving, my brain can deduce fine detailed information about how the sky should
Dec 13, 2019 at 17:55 comment added Timothy I know people do sometimes have false senses of things like when they reconstruct a false memory. Maybe they also sometimes miss see things. I really don't think I would have reported my observation of the liquid nitrogen being very transparent if it had the same absorption spectrum as water. I think the container was tall enough that if it were water, I could have seen a bit of blue colour. I made my judgement based on what it looked like before the beer went in. There were no objects in there to reflect coloured light. As the small thin layer of mist moves, my brains gains more information
Dec 13, 2019 at 9:04 comment added Ruslan You can't judge such unsaturated colors from the photo: the color there depends on white balance setting used when shooting and post-processing. Moreover, you can't even compare two unrelated images, since the shooting modes are most likely different there.
Dec 13, 2019 at 6:01 history answered Timothy CC BY-SA 4.0