Skip to main content
replaced http://math.stackexchange.com/ with https://math.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, Math.SE is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this userthis user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized I couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, Math.SE is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized I couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, Math.SE is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized I couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

Notice added Book Recommendation by Qmechanic
Post Made Community Wiki by Qmechanic
Post Closed as "not constructive" by Qmechanic
retagged;
Source Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k

level Level of calculus required for physics

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, math.stackexchangeMath.SE is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized iI couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

level of calculus required for physics

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, math.stackexchange is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized i couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

Level of calculus required for physics

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, Math.SE is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized I couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above.
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

deleted 169 characters in body
Source Link
nt.bas
  • 103
  • 1
  • 5

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, math.stackexchange is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized i couldn't solve the majority of them.

So mythe question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: engineering student, studied standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above. 
Note: I'm learning physics not as part of college but because it is a too beautiful area of science to live without knowing a thing or two in it. So self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, math.stackexchange is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized i couldn't solve the majority of them.

So my question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: engineering student, studied standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above. Note: I'm learning physics not as part of college but because it is a too beautiful area of science to live without knowing a thing or two in it. So self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

First time for me here so kindly let me know if I violate the rules - especially if this is a duplicate.

After reading the page how to become a good theoretical phycist, I started a serious revision of calculus. For exercises, math.stackexchange is a good place. I was attempting exercises from this user (question s/he asked and answered) and realized i couldn't solve the majority of them.

So the question is what is the level of mastery of calculus required for physics? What is(are) the best book(s) for that? I'm interested in limits, integration and infinite series for now.

Background: standard mathematics with limits, integration, infinite series, differential equations (ODEs and PDEs) and numerical analysis and optimization. Everything was fast paced because professors wanted to finish the program as fast as possible ( during 3 semesters ) so I really never got good at any of the listed above. 
Note: self-study kind of books will be most helpful.

edited tags
Link
nt.bas
  • 103
  • 1
  • 5
Loading
Source Link
nt.bas
  • 103
  • 1
  • 5
Loading