Skip to main content
Delete unnecessary warm-up (question is good, no need to apologize)
Source Link

This is going to sound like a stupid question. It sounds stupid in my head. But here goes.

The net force on an object is equal to the mass times the acceleration, $F = ma$

When I brake on a (moving) car, the net force is negative, therefore causing the resulting acceleration to also be negative. This all makes sense, but if the acceleration of the car is negative, why does it not keep moving backward? I know cars in real life come to a stop, but I am having trouble explaining why the car does not continue to accelerate backward while the brakes are applied, with physics, so to speak.

Where is the logic incorrect?

This is going to sound like a stupid question. It sounds stupid in my head. But here goes.

The net force on an object is equal to the mass times the acceleration, $F = ma$

When I brake on a (moving) car, the net force is negative, therefore causing the resulting acceleration to also be negative. This all makes sense, but if the acceleration of the car is negative, why does it not keep moving backward? I know cars in real life come to a stop, but I am having trouble explaining why the car does not continue to accelerate backward while the brakes are applied, with physics, so to speak.

Where is the logic incorrect?

The net force on an object is equal to the mass times the acceleration, $F = ma$

When I brake on a (moving) car, the net force is negative, therefore causing the resulting acceleration to also be negative. This all makes sense, but if the acceleration of the car is negative, why does it not keep moving backward? I know cars in real life come to a stop, but I am having trouble explaining why the car does not continue to accelerate backward while the brakes are applied, with physics, so to speak.

Where is the logic incorrect?

Question Protected by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/StackPhysics/status/1070196206448640000
edited tags
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Source Link
Harnoor Lal
  • 637
  • 1
  • 5
  • 6

Why doesn't a braking car move backwards?

This is going to sound like a stupid question. It sounds stupid in my head. But here goes.

The net force on an object is equal to the mass times the acceleration, $F = ma$

When I brake on a (moving) car, the net force is negative, therefore causing the resulting acceleration to also be negative. This all makes sense, but if the acceleration of the car is negative, why does it not keep moving backward? I know cars in real life come to a stop, but I am having trouble explaining why the car does not continue to accelerate backward while the brakes are applied, with physics, so to speak.

Where is the logic incorrect?