Skip to main content

LetsLet's say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

(I've read a few answers but I didn't quite understand them.)

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma, it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc.Etc.

-I I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.  ( anyAny research papers along with the answer would be appreciated.).

Thanks!

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

(I've read a few answers but I didn't quite understand them.)

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc..

-I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

Let's say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why. Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

(I've read a few answers but I didn't quite understand them.)

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma, it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? Etc.

I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.  (Any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated.).

Thanks!

Notice removed Draw attention by Chandrahas
Bounty Ended with kleingordon's answer chosen by Chandrahas
Tweeted twitter.com/StackPhysics/status/830846617808953346
added 331 characters in body
Source Link
Chandrahas
  • 1.7k
  • 14
  • 31

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

(I've read a few answers but I didn't quite understand them.)

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc..

-I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc..

-I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

(I've read a few answers but I didn't quite understand them.)

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc..

-I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

Notice added Draw attention by Chandrahas
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Chandrahas
added 331 characters in body
Source Link
Chandrahas
  • 1.7k
  • 14
  • 31

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have no cluein my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on how?

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to find the moving plasma recombination rateit would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Can anyone help me do thisDensity? (I've seenetc..

-I was wondering if there was a few answers before but failedmethod or equation governing this phenomenon to understand themcalculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So I have no clue on how to find the plasma recombination rate. Can anyone help me do this? (I've seen a few answers before but failed to understand them).

Thanks

Lets say I ionize a gas and create a plasma. I know this doesn't last very long because they recombine. But I don't understand why.Why do electrons give up their energy in the form of light and recombine with the atom. If they have sufficient energy, then why don't they just stay that way?

-So, the question I have in my mind is: If I have a moving charged plasma, and I add some electrons, what would the recombination rate depend on?

I was thinking that if the electrons have low velocity components relative to the moving plasma it would be faster, and also if the temperature of the plasma is low. Density? etc..

-I was wondering if there was a method or equation governing this phenomenon to calculate the plasma recombination rate considering all these factors.( any research papers along with the answer would be appreciated).

Thanks

added 5 characters in body
Source Link
Chandrahas
  • 1.7k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading
Source Link
Chandrahas
  • 1.7k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading