Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • $\begingroup$ this is kinda related: physics.stackexchange.com/questions/201394/… although you might have seen it already $\endgroup$
    – user81619
    Commented Aug 22, 2015 at 14:21
  • $\begingroup$ I actually did not find this particular post, but I have been reading Webster's "Medical Instrumentation" which says pretty much the same thing. The problem with this explanation, I find, is that it basically says that the heart is one big dipole, which doesn't make sense to me. I really think the detected field is the contribution of multiple small signals coming from individual cells, although I have not found anything to support this idea. $\endgroup$
    – victorbg
    Commented Aug 22, 2015 at 14:31
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Maybe rephrase your question with the link in it and the question in your comment included? Or ask it as a seperate question? I know you are dealing with muscle cells, but I seem to remember something about squid neurons being individually measured (as they are so large). $\endgroup$
    – user81619
    Commented Aug 22, 2015 at 15:29