Skip to main content
Changed title; retagged; removed greeting; Dear jak, if u do not like my changes, pls roll back or use the parts u like.
Source Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k

I know this is right, but why What is thisthe physical reason a violation of energy$+5V$ equipotential coutour cannot intersect a $-5V$ equipotential coutour?

Now I've been told that equipotential contours with different values can never intersect. That is, if one level is 5V and one is -5V, they can't intersect. This make sense to me mathematically (one contour is above the other), but how do you explain that this is true in terms of energy? In other words, how is energy even related to this problem? Because I don't see the relationship at all.

Thanks

I know this is right, but why is this a violation of energy?

Now I've been told that equipotential contours with different values can never intersect. That is, if one level is 5V and one is -5V, they can't intersect. This make sense to me mathematically (one contour is above the other), but how do you explain that this is true in terms of energy? In other words, how is energy even related to this problem? Because I don't see the relationship at all.

Thanks

What is the physical reason a $+5V$ equipotential coutour cannot intersect a $-5V$ equipotential coutour?

Now I've been told that equipotential contours with different values can never intersect. That is, if one level is 5V and one is -5V, they can't intersect. This make sense to me mathematically (one contour is above the other), but how do you explain that this is true in terms of energy? In other words, how is energy even related to this problem? Because I don't see the relationship at all.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackPhysics/status/154388436223148032
Source Link
Lemon
  • 937
  • 2
  • 22
  • 33

I know this is right, but why is this a violation of energy?

Now I've been told that equipotential contours with different values can never intersect. That is, if one level is 5V and one is -5V, they can't intersect. This make sense to me mathematically (one contour is above the other), but how do you explain that this is true in terms of energy? In other words, how is energy even related to this problem? Because I don't see the relationship at all.

Thanks