Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Where did you get the 63% number? Is that linear or areal? It's my understanding that crop mode on FX Nikon DSLRs are 67% linear, which translates to 45% in terms of image area. Canon is 62.5% and 39%. \$\endgroup\$
    – Michael C
    Commented Jun 18 at 8:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MichaelC <strike>Nikon crop is 1.6. So 1/1.6 = 0.625 ≈ 63%. You're right, I should have squared the 1.6.</strike> I don't know why I had 1.6 in my head. I know it's 1.5. Having a brain fog day, I guess. \$\endgroup\$
    – scottbb
    Commented Jun 18 at 13:18