Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 20, 2020 at 4:29 comment added bob1 @Zeus - yeah, I thought that might be the problem with them. Though most of the ones I have seen have 2 lenses, admittedly they don't look like quality lenses. Quality lenses are always expensive. Dental/jeweller's loupes should work well, I just forgot about them in my answer.
Aug 20, 2020 at 2:23 comment added Zeus I am a "hobbyist and model maker", and I find these sorts of "visor with lenses" difficult to use. Mostly because the focal plane is too close: you need to lean forward too much, or hold the piece in your hands, which is not always possible. Not to mention that a single lens is a poor optical device regardless of its quality. What could be the answer is a dental loupe (just an arbitrary link). They have a convenient working/focusing distance (30-42 cm) and proper optical quality. Medical grade is expensive ($1000+), but some can be had for <$100.
Aug 19, 2020 at 6:17 comment added Arsenal +1 for stereo microscopes, my electronic hardware colleagues are using them quite often for delicate soldering work (0.5 mm or less) and after a bit of getting used to it they can create astonishing results.
Aug 19, 2020 at 3:42 review First posts
Aug 19, 2020 at 8:50
Aug 19, 2020 at 3:36 history answered bob1 CC BY-SA 4.0