Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 28, 2021 at 15:02 comment added Graham @EvilSnack Oh, it's not just imaginable, it's entirely proven fact. I'm speaking as someone who contracted a preventable, regularly-fatal disease (whooping cough) because my mother believed an unfounded scare story about vaccinations running at the time. My sister and I survived, but we had a 1% risk of at least one of us dying. My mother still regrets that, but regret wouldn't have changed anything if we'd been in the 1%. The most stupid, most dangerous way of making decisions is to put them in the hands of people who are unable to make rational decisions about the risks each way.
Sep 28, 2021 at 0:32 comment added Ryan_L @tgdavies It's not, but J&J's is and it works the same way. I did get the J&J one, but I'm still worried about long-term side effects. Like I said I'm not anti-vax in general or even in this case. I'm skeptical and I don't think it's just for the government (the same gov that did MKUltra, the Tuskeegee experiments btw) to make that call for anyone, especially by force.
Sep 27, 2021 at 23:25 comment added EvilSnack "It is hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong." -- Thomas Sowell
Sep 27, 2021 at 23:23 comment added tgdavies @Ryan_L This is an interesting example of having to "act under uncertainty". You have to estimate the costs of the unknown long term side effects vs. the pretty well known benefits if you do get Covid. Of course whether they should be mandated is a separate question to whether you personally decide to take them. Incidentally the AstraZeneca vaccine is a more 'traditional' vaccine, not sure whether it's available in the USA.
Sep 27, 2021 at 19:16 comment added Ryan_L @NeilMeyer most of them, including me, just don't want to be guinea pigs. I get the flu shot every year, all my other vaxes, but the way these covid ones are being forced is wrong. They use brand new technology, developed in record time, and you can't sue J&J et. al. if you get hurt. I get that short-term consequences are rare, and I get that the FDA approved Pfizer's vax. But every commercial on TV that starts with "You may be entitled to a cash settlement" is about a drug that was FDA-approved. So they're mandating drugs with unknown longterm side effects and no chance for compensation.
Sep 27, 2021 at 17:58 comment added Neil Meyer I wonder if a doctor is not worth listening when it comes to vaccines who exactly is enough of a expert on medical matters according to antivaxxers?
S Sep 26, 2021 at 14:27 review First answers
Sep 26, 2021 at 14:43
S Sep 26, 2021 at 14:27 history answered R Giles CC BY-SA 4.0