Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 26, 2019 at 15:43 comment added Ted Wrigley I actually agree with Jobermark about metaphysics (though I don't think he realizes it); I just recognize that that agreement is by no means universal. I sincerely doubt that Justin would agree (as he seems to lean towards falsificationism) .
Sep 26, 2019 at 15:33 comment added user20253 I feel Jobermark is right in a way since metaphysics may be defined with reasonable precision. But as you say lots of well-known philosophers redefine it to include inappropriate questions or to exclude legitimate ones, so to me your answer seems helpful.
Sep 26, 2019 at 2:51 comment added Ted Wrigley I'm not talking about random commentators. You should read people like Russell, Popper, and Skinner more carefully.
Sep 26, 2019 at 1:44 comment added user9166 That not just me, it is history. Metaphysics is not what some random commentator on the street says it is, it is what philosophy now and historically says it is. But if those are negative examples, then nothing in your answer says anything about metaphysics, and it is not really addressing the question... It is a long comment, not an answer.
Sep 26, 2019 at 0:08 comment added Ted Wrigley Well, that's nice of you to say so, but you'd be surprised how many people I run across who disagree. That's part of what I was pointing at when I said the classification of metaphysics was overly-subjective.
Sep 25, 2019 at 23:34 comment added user9166 Social psychology and quantum physics are not metaphysical, nor are their concepts. Even within philosophy, before they were separate domains, they belonged to domains of philosophy other than metaphysics: psychology and physics.
Sep 25, 2019 at 15:36 history answered Ted Wrigley CC BY-SA 4.0