Skip to main content
grammar spelling
Source Link
Frank Hubeny
  • 19.5k
  • 7
  • 30
  • 96

Across my life I have encountered this numerous times. One recemtrecent example from SE:

If you don't think those are a crime, you are not adult enough or logical enough to have a conversation with me.

While this clearly includes ad hominem on fictional (or subjective at least subjective) grounds, I'm asking about the first part of it, which pressuposespresupposes that I'm too young or lacking logic only because I disagree with them. How

What is this trick called?

Across my life I encountered this numerous times. One recemt example from SE:

If you don't think those are a crime, you are not adult enough or logical enough to have a conversation with me.

While this clearly includes ad hominem on fictional (or subjective at least) grounds, I'm asking about first part of it, which pressuposes that I'm too young or lacking logic only because I disagree with them. How is this trick called?

Across my life I have encountered this numerous times. One recent example:

If you don't think those are a crime, you are not adult enough or logical enough to have a conversation with me.

While this clearly includes ad hominem on fictional (or at least subjective) grounds, I'm asking about the first part of it, which presupposes that I'm too young or lacking logic only because I disagree with them.

What is this trick called?

Source Link
rus9384
  • 2.7k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 29

You disagree with me, therefore you are X. What is the name of this fallacy (manipulative trick)?

Across my life I encountered this numerous times. One recemt example from SE:

If you don't think those are a crime, you are not adult enough or logical enough to have a conversation with me.

While this clearly includes ad hominem on fictional (or subjective at least) grounds, I'm asking about first part of it, which pressuposes that I'm too young or lacking logic only because I disagree with them. How is this trick called?