Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackPhilosophy/status/680658084939849728
edited title
Link

Did Kuhn "Recant"recant"?"

deleted 116 characters in body
Source Link
Xodarap
  • 2.8k
  • 15
  • 25

I've heard (from a source which now escapes me) that later in his life Kuhn retreated from some of the more relativistic claims of The Structure of Sceintific Revolutions. Specifically, I think I remember hearing that he retreated from the claim that paradigms are "incommensurable" to a belief that one paradigm could, in some sense, be considered "better" than another.

Does anyone know if this is correct?

(Alternatively: did Kuhn never believe paradigms to be incommensurable, and I'm just remembering incorrectly?)

I've heard (from a source which now escapes me) that later in his life Kuhn retreated from some of the more relativistic claims of The Structure of Sceintific Revolutions. Specifically, I think I remember hearing that he retreated from the claim that paradigms are "incommensurable" to a belief that one paradigm could, in some sense, be considered "better" than another.

Does anyone know if this is correct?

(Alternatively: did Kuhn never believe paradigms to be incommensurable, and I'm just remembering incorrectly?)

I've heard (from a source which now escapes me) that later in his life Kuhn retreated from some of the more relativistic claims of The Structure of Sceintific Revolutions. Specifically, I think I remember hearing that he retreated from the claim that paradigms are "incommensurable" to a belief that one paradigm could, in some sense, be considered "better" than another.

Does anyone know if this is correct?

Source Link
Xodarap
  • 2.8k
  • 15
  • 25
Loading