Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 10 at 16:05 vote accept mkinson
Apr 3 at 15:44 comment added Scott Rowe He was so ahead of his time.
Apr 3 at 15:10 comment added J D @ScottRowe What? I thought it was, "You can have any type of intelligence you want as long as it's extended intelligence." Henry Ford ; )
Apr 3 at 14:40 comment added Scott Rowe "If I'd asked phone users what they wanted, they would have said, 'Extended Intelligence '." - Not Henry Ford
Apr 3 at 13:57 comment added J D The measure of intelligence should not be an IQ test, but what one can do with one's tools for solving problems.
Apr 3 at 13:56 comment added J D @infinitezero I apologize. I'll be simpler with my language. AI makes us smarter because modern computation including AI technology is a distributed architecture. According to embodied and extended intelligence (going beyond cognitive psychology's metaphor), when we make smarter computers, on the whole, our minds which extend to include our tools makes us smarter. It's too simple to think of the mind as just corresponding to the brain.
Apr 3 at 13:14 comment added infinitezero @JD You're missing my point. I don't argue that there's no AI in smartphones, I'm arguing that your examples are unrelated to it.
Apr 3 at 12:47 comment added J D @infinitezero "But AI tech inside phones is not new. Some aspects of AI have been in devices for years and have allowed features such as background blur effects on smartphones and picture editing." cnbc.com/2024/02/25/… Und jetzt wißen Sie.
Apr 3 at 5:35 comment added infinitezero @JD last time I checked, a contact list and phone vibration was not-AI related. Same for playing wordle.
Apr 3 at 2:57 comment added J D @infinitezero Hate to break it to you compadre, but smartphones have AI built into them. AI and supercomputers was fun in Tron, but it's not how modern AI is deployed. ; )
Apr 2 at 23:00 comment added infinitezero (-1) the question is about AI but the answer is mainly about smartphones.
Apr 2 at 14:05 comment added Scott Rowe Yes, my rear end used to get really sore, sitting on the floor between the stacks, perusing. A tablet is a big improvement.
Apr 2 at 12:31 comment added J D Consider now that when I have a question, I asked an LLM, and after reading the answer, I generally have an increased vocabulary that I can use to skim encyclopedia articles. In 5 minutes, I can go from a state of relative ignorance, to having a general sketch of relevant ideas for research. That wasn't possible when I was in grade school without the use of a library and its card catalogs.
Apr 2 at 12:26 history answered J D CC BY-SA 4.0