Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • 2
    Consider now that when I have a question, I asked an LLM, and after reading the answer, I generally have an increased vocabulary that I can use to skim encyclopedia articles. In 5 minutes, I can go from a state of relative ignorance, to having a general sketch of relevant ideas for research. That wasn't possible when I was in grade school without the use of a library and its card catalogs.
    – J D
    Commented Apr 2 at 12:31
  • 3
    Yes, my rear end used to get really sore, sitting on the floor between the stacks, perusing. A tablet is a big improvement.
    – Scott Rowe
    Commented Apr 2 at 14:05
  • (-1) the question is about AI but the answer is mainly about smartphones. Commented Apr 2 at 23:00
  • 1
    The measure of intelligence should not be an IQ test, but what one can do with one's tools for solving problems.
    – J D
    Commented Apr 3 at 13:57
  • 1
    @ScottRowe What? I thought it was, "You can have any type of intelligence you want as long as it's extended intelligence." Henry Ford ; )
    – J D
    Commented Apr 3 at 15:10