Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 22, 2023 at 19:57 comment added user66760 I think that is the best comment on this thread @LudwigV
Jul 20, 2023 at 7:34 comment added Ludwig V One way of looking at your problem would start from the definitions that an argument is sound if and only if it is valid and the premisses are true and that two statements contradict each other if and only if they cannot both be true. It follows, I think, that if the premisses of argument A and argument B contradict each other, they cannot both be true. Hence, the arguments cannot both be sound even if they are both valid. How this applies to actual cases is complicated, but when people offer multiple arguments with different premisses, there is always a suspicion of special pleading.
Jul 19, 2023 at 18:56 comment added Arnold I have two arguments to justify my belief in M. Argument A and argument B have the same conclusion, but the premises of argument A contradict the premises of argument B, so I cannot use them together at the same time because they would contradict each other. Can I use these two arguments separately when I need to? If I want to use argument A, I stop using argument B and start using argument A. If I want to use argument B, I stop using argument A and start using argument B. I want to know if I can do this or if I need to choose only one argument and use only that one.
Jul 19, 2023 at 18:37 history answered E Tam CC BY-SA 4.0