Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Thank you, she has her kennel that is her space. She tends to stay there if it's just her and I in the house... like now... but as soon as he gets home, she'll run and start barking a really high pitched loud bark. It happens every day... I've told him that I need his help with this. He thinks I'm just being silly. I've even printed out studies and documentaries... but he just thinks I'm acting this way because I don't like her... I've been tempted to give her away and say, "Oops! She ran away!" But that would be mean, and I couldn't do that to him.
    – Heather
    Commented Jan 20, 2016 at 23:40
  • @Heather Definitely don't do that, nothing good will come from it.
    – Pyritie
    Commented Jan 22, 2016 at 11:07
  • @Heather, don't do that but you need to give your boyfriend an ultimatum: Either take care of the dog and stop being an enabler or she needs to go.
    – CSRenA
    Commented Jan 12, 2017 at 14:53
  • I wish I could upvote this twice, once for "he should greet you first and let the dog see it", and once for "enabler". I was an emergency veterinary technician and professional dog trainer for many years; your advice is spot-on. Commented Jun 19, 2017 at 9:31