Skip to main content
adds grammar.
Source Link
lila
  • 210
  • 5
  • 11

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

LetsLet's say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for, isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Let's say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for, isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

replaced http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/ with https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or IgnoredDown-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](https://pets.meta.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

Post Made Community Wiki by Spidercat
added 91 characters in body
Source Link
Spidercat
  • 15.6k
  • 11
  • 21

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. AcceptableAcceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering whyI would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. See the section forFor more tips on writing a good answer in, take a look at the down-voted/ignored postsection: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. See the section for writing a good answer in the down-voted/ignored post.


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

One-Liner


Sometimes we just know the answer to a question, and it seems simple to us. Things we've known forever we tend to think that it's common knowledge. The problem is that even if it is common knowledge, that doesn't mean that everyone knows it.

Lets say that someone asks a question that to most people who have kept fish probably know.

"Why am I not supposed to clean my fish tank with soap?"

The answer is pretty straightforward: It would kill the fish.

So then we've answered the question right? That's what we're here for isn't it? To give people answers to their questions. So why is it wrong to give a short answer?

Well, the thing about short answers, is that they're acceptable sometimes, but it's nothing more than that.. Acceptable. The real question is, do we want acceptable answers? Or great answers?

Here are some of the issues with writing a short, acceptable, answer:

  1. It conveys a lack of caring. If I were to take the time to write out a question I had, and someone wrote an answer with only two sentences in it. I'd feel pretty dejected. People are coming here to learn, so what we need to do to facilitate that, is to show some consideration and make sure that we put a little bit of effort into our answers.

  2. If an answer brings up more questions, is it really an answer? In the example, if I were to receive that answer, I would still be left wondering why. Because while I was told that soap kills fish, I wasn't told why soap kills fish. Furthermore, why should I believe some random person on the internet? It could be a joke, or misinformed. There is always more to elaborate on, so use that to argue why your answer is the correct one. For more tips on writing a good answer, take a look at the section: "Down-Voted or Ignored".


I think this answer could be improved. See: [Why is my answer being Down-Voted or Ignored?](http://meta.pets.stackexchange.com/a/777/481\)

added 6 characters in body
Source Link
Spidercat
  • 15.6k
  • 11
  • 21
Loading
added 172 characters in body
Source Link
Spidercat
  • 15.6k
  • 11
  • 21
Loading
Source Link
Spidercat
  • 15.6k
  • 11
  • 21
Loading