Skip to main content
deleted 7 characters in body
Source Link
Beth Lang
  • 4.1k
  • 11
  • 6

I have asked a couple expert level questions and I want expert to answer them. But I have had comments on a couple of them asking me to explain the terms used. I think it might be a bad idea to explain them within that question for a couple reasons. 1) It takes the focus away from the actual question and 2) it seems more appropriate for a question like "what does a stopped contact in agility mean?" to be asked all on its own than try to include the term definition within the question that is asking a higher level question. One the beginner level question has been asked then the expert questions could provide a link back to the beginner question in case a newbie is trying to understand it.

This seems to be the pattern for the more successful sightssites. For example, in a question about how c# polymorphism can be slightly different different from polymorphism in Java we wouldn't ask them to explain or even provide a link to what polymorphism is.

I think we should let the questions stand as they are for a little bit. For the ones that I ask and we don't have an expert on yet I'm working on finding the experts and seeing if I can get them to participate. But if we dumb it down they won't see it as a place for them to get answers too and they won't come back.

I have asked a couple expert level questions and I want expert to answer them. But I have had comments on a couple of them asking me to explain the terms used. I think it might be a bad idea to explain them within that question for a couple reasons. 1) It takes the focus away from the actual question and 2) it seems more appropriate for a question like "what does a stopped contact in agility mean?" to be asked all on its own than try to include the term definition within the question that is asking a higher level question. One the beginner level question has been asked then the expert questions could provide a link back to the beginner question in case a newbie is trying to understand it.

This seems to be the pattern for the more successful sights. For example, in a question about how c# polymorphism can be slightly different different from polymorphism in Java we wouldn't ask them to explain or even provide a link to what polymorphism is.

I think we should let the questions stand as they are for a little bit. For the ones that I ask and we don't have an expert on yet I'm working on finding the experts and seeing if I can get them to participate. But if we dumb it down they won't see it as a place for them to get answers too and they won't come back.

I have asked a couple expert level questions and I want expert to answer them. But I have had comments on a couple of them asking me to explain the terms used. I think it might be a bad idea to explain them within that question for a couple reasons. 1) It takes the focus away from the actual question and 2) it seems more appropriate for a question like "what does a stopped contact in agility mean?" to be asked all on its own than try to include the term definition within the question that is asking a higher level question. One the beginner level question has been asked then the expert questions could provide a link back to the beginner question in case a newbie is trying to understand it.

This seems to be the pattern for the more successful sites. For example, in a question about how c# polymorphism can be slightly different from polymorphism in Java we wouldn't ask them to explain or even provide a link to what polymorphism is.

I think we should let the questions stand as they are for a little bit. For the ones that I ask and we don't have an expert on yet I'm working on finding the experts and seeing if I can get them to participate. But if we dumb it down they won't see it as a place for them to get answers too and they won't come back.

Source Link
Beth Lang
  • 4.1k
  • 11
  • 6

If a question contains terms that will only be familiar to people familiar with the topic do we fix it?

I have asked a couple expert level questions and I want expert to answer them. But I have had comments on a couple of them asking me to explain the terms used. I think it might be a bad idea to explain them within that question for a couple reasons. 1) It takes the focus away from the actual question and 2) it seems more appropriate for a question like "what does a stopped contact in agility mean?" to be asked all on its own than try to include the term definition within the question that is asking a higher level question. One the beginner level question has been asked then the expert questions could provide a link back to the beginner question in case a newbie is trying to understand it.

This seems to be the pattern for the more successful sights. For example, in a question about how c# polymorphism can be slightly different different from polymorphism in Java we wouldn't ask them to explain or even provide a link to what polymorphism is.

I think we should let the questions stand as they are for a little bit. For the ones that I ask and we don't have an expert on yet I'm working on finding the experts and seeing if I can get them to participate. But if we dumb it down they won't see it as a place for them to get answers too and they won't come back.