Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
replaced http://parenting.stackexchange.com/ with https://parenting.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answerThis answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.
replaced http://meta.parenting.stackexchange.com/ with https://parenting.meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggestedsuggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.

I like to keep an open mind, and I admit that it's a wise parent who asks, how can I protect my child against the weapons I keep at home because that's relevant to some professions.

But some questions go more in the downright scary direction of What is a good starter firearm for children?

I find the topic itself quite worrisome, and merely by allowing the topic here, we grant the mix of weapons and children some degree of approval which I am against. I'm not going to burden this question with arguments of my personal opinion up front, but I think we need to discuss our stance on whether weapons questions should be allowed.

I suggest this policy:
Safety questions, yes.
Weapons choices, no.

Update:
Wow, this sparked a very good discussion with many contributions to either side.
Clearly, weapons is a highly controversial area (unlike, say, stroller selection). I'm pleased to see that nearly every contribution was constructive. So far a few clear distinctions have emerged:

  • Weapon safety is considered on-topic by everyone. End of discussion.
  • Weapon training is the controversial issue. This answer most eloquently states the argument against. Arguments for are more scattered.
  • It has been suggested to keep even the controversial questions, but add answers that argue against the issue; and then let the voting do its work.
Added summary.
Source Link
Loading
Added clarification.
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading