Skip to main content
20 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 2, 2023 at 19:22 comment added Alex J. I partly agree with @Russell Steen. Perhaps some people wont notice effects from Giardia, but that doesn't mean it is not present. It can lower your immune system,... The difference can show after few days,... In my experience filtering water takes very little time in relation to whole day and I know my water is clean enough. I got poisoning from soo called clean water, where it should be clean. I got fewer, was vomiting,.. That took so much energy away from me(because I vomited all the food) that I hardly came back down from a mountain, had to use last atoms of strength.
Oct 3, 2021 at 19:46 comment added njzk2 "Any dehydrated meal will do", but will also contain too much salt and sugar, as well as, will come with a ton of plastic.
May 24, 2016 at 16:19 comment added gerrit @CoreyD Dehydrated meals are €1.45 per package on Amazon. I can't cook for myself for that money.
May 24, 2016 at 16:18 comment added gerrit Does peanut butter offer any advantage over plain peanuts?
Apr 5, 2016 at 11:37 history edited Russell Steen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 4 characters in body
Aug 11, 2015 at 23:48 comment added rlb.usa IMO The Lemon Luna Bar is the only edible flavor
Apr 6, 2015 at 23:31 comment added ShemSeger @RussellSteen - You can drink the water untreated in Glacier National Park in Montana. I live on the Canada side and I've been drinking the water from the streams and creeks in the area all of my life.
Feb 17, 2015 at 20:49 comment added Russell Steen @BenCrowell - ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10737847 The risk is minimal, which is why I said 'potential', but the risk is there and to call my claim "totally" false is hyperbole. There have been confirmed cases of Giardia in the back country. Also, Giardia is not the only parasite out there. As someone who has personally had amoebic dysentery from contaminated back country water... it's not something I'm willing to take chances with even if the odds ARE small. Using a filter is far less hassle than another bout of that.
Feb 17, 2015 at 19:53 comment added user2169 @RussellSteen: Last I read there is no place in the US that does not have a potential for Giardia. Domesticated animals, including the increased popularity of hiking with dogs, over the entire US has spread this protozoa to virtually every stream in the continental US. Totally false. More info here: lightandmatter.com/article/hiking_water.html
Feb 17, 2015 at 19:22 history edited Russell Steen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 86 characters in body
Oct 15, 2012 at 5:14 vote accept victoriah
Oct 15, 2012 at 5:14
Jul 11, 2012 at 13:48 comment added Corey D @RussellSteen full retail price on those is somewhat obscene. $12 for 1050 Calories is more expensive than most pricey energy sources like Honey Stinger Waffles and Gu energy gel stuff. The freeze dried meals make sense for some but you have to realize you're not getting much for what you pay for.
Jul 10, 2012 at 15:48 comment added Russell Steen @CoreyD -- Here's an example. We stock up during sales so generally pay 60% of the retail. My wife and I will carry this. Even without the sale it is two servings each for $6. However we shop sales, so we generally would only pay $7.2, or $3.60 each for 2 servings, so $1.80 per serving. $1.80/serving is just not extremely expensive. rei.com/product/768688/mountain-house-beef-stew-4-servings. Some people like to do the whole "make your own food thing". That's cool, and I respect that. But let's not mischaracterize the other options.
Jul 10, 2012 at 15:43 comment added Russell Steen @CoreyD -- It's just my experience, I'm not assuming anything. I do high mileage hiking and this works for me and I eat 4k to 5k cals/day when hiking. Different people are going to have different calorie needs, which is a separate issue entirely. We buy our food on a compromise of cost+time compared to calories, weight, and required preparation at camp. Freeze dried meals for dinner make a good compromise for me and are not in my experience, "extremely" expensive, even less so when I factor in my own time spent trying to do dehydration at home.
Jul 10, 2012 at 12:39 comment added Corey D @RussellSteen you're assuming you get filled up eating one of those, which isn't necessarily the case for high mileage folks.
Jul 9, 2012 at 19:02 comment added Russell Steen @CoreyD -- They can be. But by shopping sales and such I can generally get it down to $6/meal. You can do cheaper by dehydrating at home, but $6/meal is less than what most people average on food so I'm not sure I'd call that "extremely" expensive.
Jul 9, 2012 at 13:25 comment added Corey D Dehydrated dinners are extremely expensive for what you get. Consider buying or making your own dehydrated veggies/meats and pairing with couscous.
Feb 1, 2012 at 17:07 comment added Russell Steen @victoriah -- That would be awesome and I wish I could. Last I read there is no place in the US that does not have a potential for Giardia. Domesticated animals, including the increased popularity of hiking with dogs, over the entire US has spread this protozoa to virtually every stream in the continental US. Now that's not to say that you can't get lucky in the US drinking untreated water, just that it's not a good idea here.
Jan 31, 2012 at 23:34 comment added victoriah I never carry or purify my water, where I hike it's totally clean, so that's not a consideration for me, but probably for other hikers finding this it will be I guess :D
Jan 31, 2012 at 23:27 history answered Russell Steen CC BY-SA 3.0