Skip to main content
added 23 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
ahron
  • 1.8k
  • 11
  • 28

Cut snow columns for How to do a snowpack test without using a saw

Suppose I am out in the mountains and I want to do a snowpack (in/stability) test before traversing across a slope. I have not, however, carried a saw - to cut a snow column. I have on me regular mountaineering gear - including a shovel, hiking pole, and iceaxes.

How can I cut a possibly cut a column of snow on which to do the stability test (by patting down with a shovel on top of the column)?

Would it be any different if I had skis?

Cut snow columns for snowpack test without using a saw

Suppose I am out in the mountains and I want to do a snowpack (in/stability) test before traversing across a slope. I have not, however, carried a saw. I have on me regular mountaineering gear - including a shovel, hiking pole, and iceaxes.

How can I cut a possibly cut a column of snow on which to do the stability test (by patting down with a shovel on top of the column)?

Would it be any different if I had skis?

How to do a snowpack test without using a saw

Suppose I am out in the mountains and I want to do a snowpack (in/stability) test before traversing across a slope. I have not, however, carried a saw - to cut a snow column. I have on me regular mountaineering gear - including a shovel, hiking pole, and iceaxes.

How can I cut a possibly cut a column of snow on which to do the stability test (by patting down with a shovel on top of the column)?

Would it be any different if I had skis?

Source Link
ahron
  • 1.8k
  • 11
  • 28

Cut snow columns for snowpack test without using a saw

Suppose I am out in the mountains and I want to do a snowpack (in/stability) test before traversing across a slope. I have not, however, carried a saw. I have on me regular mountaineering gear - including a shovel, hiking pole, and iceaxes.

How can I cut a possibly cut a column of snow on which to do the stability test (by patting down with a shovel on top of the column)?

Would it be any different if I had skis?