Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    Looks like knee protectors would help to prevent knee injuries, but not sure how to choose an appropriate one for a person who does not have any knee pain yet. Thank you for the other tips.
    – Fenophter
    Commented Jul 25, 2019 at 16:56
  • I only wore one when I had a knee injury due to running, but only during running afterwards. Some exercises and some tips like above helped more. Commented Jul 25, 2019 at 18:18
  • 1
    In my own limited experience, I would avoid zig-zagging as much as possible. The turns add additional load and you do more distance. If it feels too steep/too much force on your knees, I experienced (ridiculously) short steps to be more effective (in me and friends :) ).
    – imsodin
    Commented Jul 26, 2019 at 12:08
  • @imsodin I was learnt this way (zigzagging) by an alp mountain instructuror; it helped me well. But of course, if small steps are possible, that. Only use zigzagging when the slope is too steep. Commented Jul 26, 2019 at 12:25