Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 2, 2017 at 10:22 vote accept anderas
Dec 26, 2016 at 22:08 comment added imsodin Also wet limestone is a nightmare for cams - completely unreliable. My first trad experience was on limestone in rain. After trying out cams with backup and consistently failing, we resorted to nuts - a well placed nut holds everything (no guarantees).
Dec 26, 2016 at 18:37 comment added anderas This is a great answer, even though it doesn't really go in the direction that I expected. Our case is more like "That solid basalt UIAA 5/6 crack over there is way too cold for our fingers, and maybe a bit wet, why not try to aid it?", not "It's raining but I can't wait for better weather, let's go outside and start aid climbing some unstable sandstone". But I have to admit that the question wasn't completely clear here. So for now, I'll upvote your answer and accept it in a few days if no better one comes along. I hope that is ok with you :-)
Dec 26, 2016 at 17:05 comment added Francky_V I would add that this is also rock-dependant - sandstone while wet is a really bad idea (but then again not all sandstones all created equal), while granite isn't quite as bad.
Dec 26, 2016 at 16:19 history edited user2169 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 708 characters in body
Dec 26, 2016 at 16:03 history answered user2169 CC BY-SA 3.0