Skip to main content
added 369 characters in body
Source Link
fgysin
  • 13k
  • 10
  • 10

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woolen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/Live Action Role Playing Game enthusiast this has great appeal to me.

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

What makes this question different from this one is that I'm more interested in older history, e.g. medieval or ancient Roman context. I.e. especially periods where outdoorsmanship in and of itself wasn't yet a thing and sources/documentation thus might be harder to come by.

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woolen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/Live Action Role Playing Game enthusiast this has great appeal to me.

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woolen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/Live Action Role Playing Game enthusiast this has great appeal to me.

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

What makes this question different from this one is that I'm more interested in older history, e.g. medieval or ancient Roman context. I.e. especially periods where outdoorsmanship in and of itself wasn't yet a thing and sources/documentation thus might be harder to come by.

Spelled out Live Action Role Playing since I didn't understand LARP! A few spelling typos.
Source Link

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woollenwoolen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/LARP enthuisiastLive Action Role Playing Game enthusiast this has great appeal to me...

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woollen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/LARP enthuisiast this has great appeal to me...

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woolen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/Live Action Role Playing Game enthusiast this has great appeal to me.

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...

Source Link
fgysin
  • 13k
  • 10
  • 10

Would questions about historic outdoorsmanship be on-topic here?

I recently got inspired by this video by a group called Hands on History:

Hiking like a Viking

Essentially the group does hiking trips while carrying/wearing only items such as Viking people would have carried back in the day. I.e. leather boots, woollen tunics, furs, etc. They even carry exclusively historic trail food.

Being a history/reenactment/LARP enthuisiast this has great appeal to me...

Would questions surrounding such historic outdoors adventures be on-topic here?

I'd be especially interested in all topics surrounding gear, e.g. what kind of clothes/cloaks to use for rain protection, ...