NHL

Rangers prospect Gabe Perreault postpones pro career for Boston College sophomore campaign

Not quite yet.

But soon.

Gabe Perreault, the Rangers’ first-round pick (No. 23 overall) in 2023, is returning to Boston College for his sophomore season and not yet turning pro with AHL Hartford.

The 19-year-old forward was one of the Rangers’ top talents during their three-day prospect development camp this week, and shouldn’t be too far away from being in contention to make the roster.

“He had a heck of a [freshman] season,” Jed Ortmeyer, the Rangers’ director of player development, said Tuesday. “He was impressive to watch, fun to watch. I got to see him a lot, and I think he’s a player that we’re excited about. Just continue to keep developing him and working with him.”

Rangers prospect Gabe Perreault skates with the puck during a morning workout at the Rangers practice facility in Tarrytown, New York. Charles Wenzelberg / New York Post

Perreault enjoyed a standout freshman season at Boston College, recording 60 points (19 goals and 41 assists) in 36 games played — tied for fourth in the nation.

He also helped lead the Eagles to the national championship game before falling to Denver.

Boston College Eagles forward Gabe Perreault skates the puck around Denver Pioneers defenseman Sean Behrens during the first period of the championship game of the 2024 Frozen Four college ice hockey tournament at Xcel Energy Center. USA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

“It was obviously a big year for myself and the team,” Perreault said. “It was a fun year overall, obviously had a good season as a team and also myself. Thought I improved, got bigger, so I think it was really good overall.”

That size, and physicality, is where Perreault likely has the most room to grow.

Listed at 5-foot-11 and 165 pounds, he’ll have to prove he can eventually hold his own on a Rangers team that is increasingly looking to become more imposing.

Gabe Perreault takes a shot during a morning workout at the Rangers practice facility. Charles Wenzelberg / New York Post
Rangers prospect Gabe Perreault talks to the media after a morning workout at the team’s practice facility. Charles Wenzelberg / New York Post

“First couple of games [freshman year], guys are bigger, stronger, probably not as much time [on the puck],” Perreault said. “That was probably the biggest difference.

“I think I’ve always been pretty good at getting to the inside and finding different ways to score and make plays. But I think as I get stronger and get bigger, it’ll make all those things easier.”

Soon he’ll return to Boston and he and the Rangers will go their separate ways for a bit.

This next season back at college could play a major role in how quickly he turns pro.

And even begin to start helping the Rangers.

“I’m just focused on having another big year at school,” Perreault said. “Try to focus there, have a good season and hopefully win a national championship. And then when that time comes, I’ll probably discuss with my family, my agent, obviously the Rangers and see where they think I’m at — and most importantly, where I think I’m at — and then I’ll make a decision from there.”