Skip to main content
replaced https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc with https://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc
Source Link

I was just reading RFC4632 "2. History and Problem Description""2. History and Problem Description" and I don't get the part about Class A with MSB '00'. That would in my understanding mean, there are actually only 64 available networks, which collides with my knowledge, that there are more /8 networks actually. The RFC also suggest, there are 128 possible networks in Class A, which would mean, there is only one MSB '0' e.g. From what I read in older RFCs, such as RFC1166 section Network NumbersRFC1166 section Network Numbers, there is only MSB '0' in Class A.

So what have I missed? In case, the RFC would be incorrect, whom should I contact to correct it?

I was just reading RFC4632 "2. History and Problem Description" and I don't get the part about Class A with MSB '00'. That would in my understanding mean, there are actually only 64 available networks, which collides with my knowledge, that there are more /8 networks actually. The RFC also suggest, there are 128 possible networks in Class A, which would mean, there is only one MSB '0' e.g. From what I read in older RFCs, such as RFC1166 section Network Numbers, there is only MSB '0' in Class A.

So what have I missed? In case, the RFC would be incorrect, whom should I contact to correct it?

I was just reading RFC4632 "2. History and Problem Description" and I don't get the part about Class A with MSB '00'. That would in my understanding mean, there are actually only 64 available networks, which collides with my knowledge, that there are more /8 networks actually. The RFC also suggest, there are 128 possible networks in Class A, which would mean, there is only one MSB '0' e.g. From what I read in older RFCs, such as RFC1166 section Network Numbers, there is only MSB '0' in Class A.

So what have I missed? In case, the RFC would be incorrect, whom should I contact to correct it?

Tweeted twitter.com/StackNetworkEng/status/987497601938358272
edited tags
Link
Ron Maupin
  • 100.1k
  • 26
  • 121
  • 196
Source Link

Class A most significant bits '0' as in RFC1166 or older or '00' as suggested in RFC4632?

I was just reading RFC4632 "2. History and Problem Description" and I don't get the part about Class A with MSB '00'. That would in my understanding mean, there are actually only 64 available networks, which collides with my knowledge, that there are more /8 networks actually. The RFC also suggest, there are 128 possible networks in Class A, which would mean, there is only one MSB '0' e.g. From what I read in older RFCs, such as RFC1166 section Network Numbers, there is only MSB '0' in Class A.

So what have I missed? In case, the RFC would be incorrect, whom should I contact to correct it?