Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
user643722
  • 211
  • 1
  • 4

Should I practise a piece at a metronome tempo that is faster than required?

I am preparing to record a jazz instrumental piece with some friends in a few months time at a small recording studio. The sheet music for the composed section indicates the BPM, and we have agreed to follow this speed. This composed section is around two minutes long, and an enjoyable challenge to play at the agreed tempo.

I play the guitar. Each day I practise the piece in sections, and conclude by playing it in its entirety one or twice; usually with a few mistakes. I do this first at a reduced tempo; and then again at full tempo.

I would of course like to play without mistakes. Would it be beneficial to also practise at a tempo which is faster than the one we have agreed upon?