Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • 1
    It would be wise to apply for a credit card and use it sparingly. I never had loans or a credit card all the way through college (until I was 27-28 years old). I found that people were throwing credit card offers at me while I was in college, but after I had graduated I was "an unknown credit risk" and was unable to get a card on my own until I joined my wife's accounts and built a little bit of credit history. The alternative would have been a secured card, which I didn't want to do.
    – David
    Commented May 30, 2017 at 18:37
  • You're doing fine without credit now, don't open any accounts! If you ever get to the point that you want a mortgage you can have manual underwriting and they may well be impressed that you're not a debt crazy. Commented May 30, 2017 at 19:14