Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    The reason I think it's a scam is cuz I have tried talking to a few diff dealers and at the end they always tried to talk me into a lease. I made my point cleared that I would like to keep the car for a while. They would ask such questions "how do u know u'll keep it for long? you sold your camry w/i 3 yrs" "monthly pmt will be lower for a lease", They really try to come up with all sort of reasons for me given that I told them already I would like to buy. Only reason I can think of is they get incentives when ppl do a lease, that way they can make more since u have to change car every 3 yrs
    – livedonkey
    Commented Jun 15, 2016 at 15:29
  • 1
    @livedonkey: There's a subtle-but-important difference between leasing being a scam and someone pushing you to sign a lease because they get some incentive for getting you to do it.
    – Blrfl
    Commented Jun 15, 2016 at 17:16
  • Agreed. I think there's also a subtle difference b/t a scam and a scheme. I was emphasizing that I believe this is a scheme in my OP, not sure why I used scam later. But anyway, if I were to create a scheme, I would make it as natural as possible. On a point, I think this might be a scheme on the dealer side or manufacturer, they just need to pay the sales more incentives if the sales get clients into a lease. This way, they sell more car because ppl have to switch every 3 yrs.
    – livedonkey
    Commented Jun 15, 2016 at 18:24
  • I don't think they assume the vehicle will be abused. They may use a conservative residual value because it is more profitable and less risky for the lessor. But if the lessee does use (drive more miles than allotted) and/or abuse (damage) the vehicle, the lessor will attempt to charge fees and penalties to the lessee to make up for it.
    – stannius
    Commented Jun 15, 2016 at 21:35