Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 22, 2019 at 0:13 comment added Shorlan @JoeTaxpayer yes, that is the correct way to have the charge count for you. The 5-20% usage has a mild impact on your current score, but it improves your score iteratively each month. Paying off the account balance for the previous pay period lets you avoid the interest.
Mar 13, 2017 at 23:05 vote accept Chael S
May 30, 2014 at 7:07 comment added Mike Scott If you're in a country with a modern banking system (you don't specify where you are) then just set up a direct debit from your current account to pay the full credit card balance on the day it's due.
May 30, 2014 at 2:36 history edited JTP - Apologise to Monica CC BY-SA 3.0
deleted 7 characters in body
Aug 7, 2013 at 6:49 vote accept Chael S
Mar 13, 2017 at 23:05
Aug 4, 2013 at 19:56 comment added JTP - Apologise to Monica How about waiting to see the bill and paying it in full? You need to pay attention to not exceed your credit line, or ideally 20% of the line. In the end, you should minimize your effort, unless you have great rewards, there's no point in pushing every last expense through the card.
Aug 4, 2013 at 18:11 comment added Chelonian @JohnBensin and Joe: I'm going to try to implement this now, but I realize I am unclear as to how to know how long to wait. I view my credit card account/balance online, and if I buy something today it will show up on the balance immediately, but it is not yet "on the statement", I guess, and so paying it now is paying too soon for this tactic. Any general advice on how to time this right, or should I just try to inquire through my credit card company?
Aug 1, 2013 at 3:35 comment added John Bensin @Chelonian I think it helped that in a recent answer, I linked to an answer Joe posted that referenced that exact post, so it was fresh in my memory.
Aug 1, 2013 at 3:18 comment added John Bensin @Chelonian It's not good to pay it off early if it means that you have 0% utilization when the final statement is posted, since that's a ding on your credit score. @ Joe I think the article Chelonian is referring to is Too Little Debt, but correct me if I'm wrong; I haven't been reading your blog for more than few months so I don't have all of the subjects memorized.
Aug 1, 2013 at 3:05 comment added Chelonian Joe, somewhere you wrote about how it is not good to pay your credit card balance off too early; search as I might, I couldn't find that statement from you. Any help on that is appreciated. (I tend to pay whatever balance hits the card a mere days after I used it, so I think I am in arrears on this one and want to understand the hit I might be taking from paying it off too soon.)
Jul 31, 2013 at 19:35 history edited JTP - Apologise to Monica CC BY-SA 3.0
added 308 characters in body
Jul 31, 2013 at 14:22 history answered JTP - Apologise to Monica CC BY-SA 3.0