Skip to main content
deleted 7 characters in body
Source Link

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

Edit - mhoran's response is in line with my thinking. His advice to use the card to build your score is what the zero-credit folk criticize as "a great debt score." Nonsense. If you use debt wisely, you'll never pay interest (except for a mortgage, perhaps) and you may gain rewards with no cost to you.

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

Edit - mhoran's response is in line with my thinking. His advice to use the card to build your score is what the zero-credit folk criticize as "a great debt score." Nonsense. If you use debt wisely, you'll never pay interest (except for a mortgage, perhaps) and you may gain rewards with no cost to you.

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

mhoran's response is in line with my thinking. His advice to use the card to build your score is what the zero-credit folk criticize as "a great debt score." Nonsense. If you use debt wisely, you'll never pay interest (except for a mortgage, perhaps) and you may gain rewards with no cost to you.

added 308 characters in body
Source Link

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

Edit - mhoran's response is in line with my thinking. His advice to use the card to build your score is what the zero-credit folk criticize as "a great debt score." Nonsense. If you use debt wisely, you'll never pay interest (except for a mortgage, perhaps) and you may gain rewards with no cost to you.

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)

Edit - mhoran's response is in line with my thinking. His advice to use the card to build your score is what the zero-credit folk criticize as "a great debt score." Nonsense. If you use debt wisely, you'll never pay interest (except for a mortgage, perhaps) and you may gain rewards with no cost to you.

Source Link

I strongly suggest you look at CreditKarma and see how each aspect of what you are doing impacts your score. Here's my take -

  1. Active account - Good
  2. Zero Balance/Utilization - Actually bad
  3. Building length of credit history - Good
  4. On time payment history - Good
  5. Credit score requests - Good (as you appear to not be applying for more accounts. The credit requests falls off after 2 years)

There's an anti-credit approach that many have which, to me, is over the top. "Zero cards, zero credit" feels to me like one step shy of "off the grid." It's so far to the right that it actually is more of an effort than just playing the game a bit. You are depositing to the card frequently to do what you are doing. That takes time and effort. Why not just pay the bill in full each month, and just track purchases so you move the cash to the account in advance, whether that's physical or on paper? In your case, it's the same as charging one item every few months to keep the card active. If that's what you'd like to do, that's fine. I'd just avoid having the card take up too much of your time and thought.

(Disclaimer - I've used and written about Credit Karma. I have no business relationship with them, my articles are to help readers, and not paid placement.)