Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
Post 4 Year Update
Source Link
Chael S
  • 63
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars negative balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

Edit:Edit: I mistakenly misused positive balance for negative balance. It appears I am using 0% utilization of my available credit.

Edit 3/2017: Coming back here to update for any future readers.

My original question was asked because of my reluctance to use a credit card, and ignorance of what 'good credit card usage' habit really is. I was confused to when you have to pay your balance, how much you have to pay, and what the interest rules were. I basically did not understand any of this and made a plan to pay the card in full before using it.

In hindsight, I agree with the sentiment from the responses below: this was wasted effort. I went the long way around using a credit card because I did not know how everything worked! Wasted effort borne from ignorance.

If you are using a credit card as a debit card, and are wondering what are the effects on your credit score, you are doing the following:

  1. Payment On Time - GOOD
  2. Credit Card Utilization 0% - BAD
  3. Credit History - GOOD

I have an approximate credit score of right under 770. I spent 4 years with 1 credit card and no other form of debt. I have paid in full every month and have paid $0.00 in interest for the history of my account. At this phase in my life, I now have multiple lines of credit (student, auto) and am considering getting a second credit card to diversify my credit history.

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars negative balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

Edit: I mistakenly misused positive balance for negative balance. It appears I am using 0% utilization of my available credit.

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars negative balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

Edit: I mistakenly misused positive balance for negative balance. It appears I am using 0% utilization of my available credit.

Edit 3/2017: Coming back here to update for any future readers.

My original question was asked because of my reluctance to use a credit card, and ignorance of what 'good credit card usage' habit really is. I was confused to when you have to pay your balance, how much you have to pay, and what the interest rules were. I basically did not understand any of this and made a plan to pay the card in full before using it.

In hindsight, I agree with the sentiment from the responses below: this was wasted effort. I went the long way around using a credit card because I did not know how everything worked! Wasted effort borne from ignorance.

If you are using a credit card as a debit card, and are wondering what are the effects on your credit score, you are doing the following:

  1. Payment On Time - GOOD
  2. Credit Card Utilization 0% - BAD
  3. Credit History - GOOD

I have an approximate credit score of right under 770. I spent 4 years with 1 credit card and no other form of debt. I have paid in full every month and have paid $0.00 in interest for the history of my account. At this phase in my life, I now have multiple lines of credit (student, auto) and am considering getting a second credit card to diversify my credit history.

added 138 characters in body
Source Link
Chael S
  • 63
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars positivenegative balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

Edit: I mistakenly misused positive balance for negative balance. It appears I am using 0% utilization of my available credit.

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars positive balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

I have a credit card through my local credit union. I am not sure if this is normal: Essentially, I am using my credit card like a debit card. If I anticipate any major purchases I will put money on the card prior to charging it. I try to keep a couple hundred dollars negative balance at all times. I have never charged amounts to my card where I have a balance due at the end of my billing cycle, so I have never paid any interest/always have the card paid in full.

I did not want to get a credit card but realized I needed to build my credit score somehow, so I got this one. I am used to paying everything in cash (which I still do for the most part). I found this method easiest for me because I do not need to keep track of my purchases or when payment is due.

  1. Am I building a credit score using my credit card this way?
  2. Is this helping/hindering my goal of establishing credit?

Edit: I mistakenly misused positive balance for negative balance. It appears I am using 0% utilization of my available credit.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackFinance/status/362999238747103233
edited title
Link
John Bensin
  • 15k
  • 3
  • 69
  • 112

Using Credit Card like a Debit Card. Am I still building a Credit Scorecredit score if I use my credit card like a debit card?

Source Link
Chael S
  • 63
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5
Loading