Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 1
    Questions like these always puzzle me. Effectively the OP is saying they don't intend to use credit, but are very concerned about their credit score. Okay, I realize credit scores are used for non-credit things, but in those cases it doesn't seem worth it to fine tune your score.
    – JohnFx
    Commented Aug 1, 2013 at 15:01
  • I am simply asking about my credit card usage habits because that is the only way I have used it since I first requested the card and hope that I am actually have positive credit score growth. I am not very concerened with my credit score, just very concerned if my card usage habits are not in wasted effort.
    – Chael S
    Commented Aug 4, 2013 at 7:46
  • 1
    Just a comment on your update: Your credit score is already excellent, and there is no reason to take out any debt you don't need just to try to boost your score further.
    – Ben Miller
    Commented Mar 14, 2017 at 12:55
  • @BenMiller I agree that opening up any additional lines of credit will not boost my credit score very effectively. What I want to do is diversify where the bulk of my good credit score comes from. My longest line of credit is with my 4 year old credit card. Getting an additional credit card would not put much strain on my financial discipline and hopefully help me maintain a good score.
    – Chael S
    Commented Mar 14, 2017 at 17:57
  • "am considering getting a second credit card to diversify my credit history." Do it to still have a CC if you lose your primary card.
    – RonJohn
    Commented Jul 26, 2019 at 1:44