Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Chris W. Rea
  • 31.7k
  • 16
  • 102
  • 190
added 1 character in body
Source Link

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone use an older exchange rate? CAD and USD isare very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3., right?

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)? JLCPCB cannot tell me how much tax I paid. They said they have nothing to do with it.

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit? Links to official sources explaining this would be very helpful.

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone use an older exchange rate? CAD and USD is very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3.

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)? JLCPCB cannot tell me how much tax I paid. They said they have nothing to do with it.

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit? Links to official sources explaining this would be very helpful.

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone use an older exchange rate? CAD and USD are very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3, right?

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)? JLCPCB cannot tell me how much tax I paid. They said they have nothing to do with it.

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit? Links to official sources explaining this would be very helpful.

added 86 characters in body
Source Link

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone useduse an older exchange rate? CAD and USD is very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3.

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)? JLCPCB cannot tell me how much tax I paid. They said they have nothing to do with it.

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I needAlso, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit? Links to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit?official sources explaining this would be very helpful.

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone used an older exchange rate? CAD and USD is very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3.

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)?

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit?

A Chinese company in Hong Kong called JLCPCB says I was charged a grand total of $146.64 USD. The Bank Of Canada says on 2024-03-15 (which is the date the payment was made) $146.64 USD was worth 198.45 CAD. My bank says I was charged 205.56 CAD.

205.56 - 198.45 = 7.11. My tax rate is 5%. But 5% of 205.56 is 10.278. That's a difference of 3.1$.

Why? Did someone use an older exchange rate? CAD and USD is very stable, so even if someone used an exchange rate that was a couple weeks old, it should only make a difference of a few cents, not $3.

What else could have caused this? Tax incentives? I live in Alberta Canada.

When I enter this into my sales tracker, should I say the tax was $10.28 (5%)? JLCPCB cannot tell me how much tax I paid. They said they have nothing to do with it.

Of course 3$ is insignificant, but this can add up over time.

I am working on selling things online, so I will need to file income tax, which means this has to be accurate. Also, when do I need to file income tax? Is it only when I make over a certain amount of profit? Links to official sources explaining this would be very helpful.

edited tags
Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading