Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 4
    The sentiment of this answer is of course correct and I would never try this approach but a 0% APR loan is a lot like free money (just invest in bonds if you want to play it safe). So if a reliable 0% APR free loan is available it is definitely a good idea to carry a (negative) "balance" (as opposed to the usual high credit card APR's where you definitely should not). The problem here is that it will not be reliable.
    – Kvothe
    Commented Dec 13, 2023 at 15:39
  • 6
    Decades ago, I used an approach of revolving debt on 0% offers to get out of debt. I would keep a stack of 0% offers and when I was getting close to the end of the one where my debt was sitting, I would apply for a new one and transfer the remaining debt (I was paying it down as well) and close the account. This actually was a 'pro' for my credit score because I had an extensive history of paying off debts on time. Things change but it's not always intuitive what will hurt or help your score. Closing CC accounts can hurt, for example.
    – JimmyJames
    Commented Dec 13, 2023 at 18:59
  • In addition to churning, the current interest rate climate is quite favourable to stoozing, which is a profitable reason to maintain a 0% card balance for those who have access to them and the discipline to keep them correctly serviced.
    – Will
    Commented Dec 15, 2023 at 9:57