Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

16
  • 5
    Thanks for this great answer and for not being toxic and rude like the other folks. I said hindsight 20/20 because i was thinking I should just save the car and get repairs when I could and then sell it myself, I'd get more than what the insurance gave me
    – user760783
    Commented Aug 9, 2021 at 16:15
  • 24
    Even better you could have collected the insurance money (less salvage value) and kept the car. I had a car totaled from being rear-ended that I continued to drive for a while because other than the non-functioning trunk hatch it was fine. Hail damage can easily total an older car and is purely cosmetic in most cases, I know a few people who happily drove their dimpled cars around for years.
    – Hart CO
    Commented Aug 9, 2021 at 17:15
  • 5
    @user760783. You said you did not have the money, so you couldn't repair it. Okay something to work on is having a healthy savings account. Could you have repaired it to a safe condition for a few thousand bucks? Maybe, maybe not. In the end your life is worth far more than saving a few bucks.
    – Pete B.
    Commented Aug 9, 2021 at 18:26
  • 3
    @BillyC.: Depends on your insurance policy: If you offer to pay a higher monthly fee, I'm sure your insurance company will be more than happy to cover additional costs as well.
    – Heinzi
    Commented Aug 10, 2021 at 11:11
  • 2
    If the car was repaired, the dealership will likely be selling the car with a rebuilt title. It's not legal to drive a car with a salvage title in some (most/all?) states.
    – Herohtar
    Commented Aug 10, 2021 at 20:23