Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 26, 2021 at 14:18 comment added FrozenKiwi @Flux because beating the market over the long term is so very difficult. Even for fund managers that do beat the market, their clients tend to underperform because they jump in -after- the big run. The OP doesn't sound like he is interested in doing the deep dive necessary to accurately judge a fund's performance, so to maximize his odds it's best to just aim for 'average'.
Jul 26, 2021 at 14:10 comment added FrozenKiwi @JTP-ApologisetoMonica - well, I think the calculus changes the closer to retirement you get. Your personal situation is a bigger factor over just "as much $$$ as possible". I don't think blanket advice is such a great idea at that point. That being said I'm in the same boat, life doesn't stop when I die so the kids will inherit my portfolio.
Jul 26, 2021 at 12:52 comment added Flux "Anything lower than that is bad, anything higher than that is worse" — Why is it bad to have higher returns?
Jul 26, 2021 at 12:41 comment added JTP - Apologise to Monica Welcome to Money.SE, nice first answer. Curious why <50? By the time I hit 40, I learned my lesson regarding trying to pick individual stocks, and am happy to ride the index funds for the rest of my life. Are you hinting at a different solution for >50?
Jul 26, 2021 at 11:40 review First posts
Jul 26, 2021 at 12:52
Jul 26, 2021 at 11:37 history answered FrozenKiwi CC BY-SA 4.0