Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Welcome to Money.SE, nice first answer. Curious why <50? By the time I hit 40, I learned my lesson regarding trying to pick individual stocks, and am happy to ride the index funds for the rest of my life. Are you hinting at a different solution for >50? Commented Jul 26, 2021 at 12:41
  • "Anything lower than that is bad, anything higher than that is worse" — Why is it bad to have higher returns?
    – Flux
    Commented Jul 26, 2021 at 12:52
  • @JTP-ApologisetoMonica - well, I think the calculus changes the closer to retirement you get. Your personal situation is a bigger factor over just "as much $$$ as possible". I don't think blanket advice is such a great idea at that point. That being said I'm in the same boat, life doesn't stop when I die so the kids will inherit my portfolio.
    – FrozenKiwi
    Commented Jul 26, 2021 at 14:10
  • @Flux because beating the market over the long term is so very difficult. Even for fund managers that do beat the market, their clients tend to underperform because they jump in -after- the big run. The OP doesn't sound like he is interested in doing the deep dive necessary to accurately judge a fund's performance, so to maximize his odds it's best to just aim for 'average'.
    – FrozenKiwi
    Commented Jul 26, 2021 at 14:18