Skip to main content

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description herePointA

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description herePointB

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2C3,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

PointA

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

PointB

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C3,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

shrunk images
Source Link
Severus Snape
  • 291
  • 1
  • 3
  • 7

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description hereenter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description hereenter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

Tweeted twitter.com/StackFinance/status/1418043253874647040
Became Hot Network Question
added screenshots to explain the situation better
Source Link
Severus Snape
  • 291
  • 1
  • 3
  • 7

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?

I have downloaded two apps namely Groww and ET Money to see the various Mutual Funds available in the market. The disclaimer reads that Mutual Funds are subject to market risks.

I am curious to know what is the worst thing that can happen to my invested amount. Say I invest a minimal Rs. 100 per month for a period of 3 years in SIP mode in any of those, in the worst case, would I lose all my amount?

Based on the last 5 years performance, a certain Mutual Fund provided say 15%. I have seen the graph sloping upwards. I understand future returns can't be precisely predicted based on past performance. And say, during the time I finished the 3 years, the graph sloped downwards, what are its results?

Summary:

  • How much may I expect returns from Mutual Funds depending on the scenario of that graph?

  • What is the worst case scenario: no returns or return of the principal amount?


Edit: I am adding some screenshots to add clarity in this question.

Screenshot 1:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time A. NAV at this point is 57.2075. This is the hypothetical point of time when I started investing on a monthly basis.

Screenshot 2:

enter image description here

Let's call this point of time B. NAV at this point is 46.16. This is the hypothetical point of time when my investment period gets over.

Between A and B, there are several instances where NAV is above the one at point A. Let's call these points C1, C2, C2,....and so on.

However, NAV at point B is lower than on point A. In such a case do my returns depend on all those points C1, C2, C3...where NAV were much higher? Or do returns solely depend on point B, where NAV was much lower than where I started i.e point A?

Source Link
Severus Snape
  • 291
  • 1
  • 3
  • 7
Loading