Skip to main content
added 469 characters in body
Source Link
Daveh0
  • 123
  • 4

I had a Citi Mastercard for several years. About a year ago, I hit a couple bumps in the road and ended up having to settle with a collection agency on the account and it now shows up on my credit report as 'Account closed by issuer' (or something similar). In this past year, I've repaired my FICO score a bit and got current on all my other accounts. Credit Sesame is telling me I have "very Good" odds of being approved for a new Mastercard, also from Citi. I obviously don't want the ding from a hard inquiry AND get declined, so I'm wary.

Can the fact that I have a previous account with Citi closed by them impact my chances of approval (any more so than the pure fact that the account was closed by issuer... regardless of who the issuer was) for a new card with them?

** EDIT **

Based on @TripeHound's comment below, it sounds like your past history with a given bank does in fact become a factor in the approval/denial process. I guess a simplified version of my question would be:

Having an account closed by the issuer definitely works against you in the approval/denial process. Do banks "hold a grudge"? Does it work against you even more when applying for a different card from a bank that has closed a previous account?

I had a Citi Mastercard for several years. About a year ago, I hit a couple bumps in the road and ended up having to settle with a collection agency on the account and it now shows up on my credit report as 'Account closed by issuer' (or something similar). In this past year, I've repaired my FICO score a bit and got current on all my other accounts. Credit Sesame is telling me I have "very Good" odds of being approved for a new Mastercard, also from Citi. I obviously don't want the ding from a hard inquiry AND get declined, so I'm wary.

Can the fact that I have a previous account with Citi closed by them impact my chances of approval (any more so than the pure fact that the account was closed by issuer... regardless of who the issuer was) for a new card with them?

I had a Citi Mastercard for several years. About a year ago, I hit a couple bumps in the road and ended up having to settle with a collection agency on the account and it now shows up on my credit report as 'Account closed by issuer' (or something similar). In this past year, I've repaired my FICO score a bit and got current on all my other accounts. Credit Sesame is telling me I have "very Good" odds of being approved for a new Mastercard, also from Citi. I obviously don't want the ding from a hard inquiry AND get declined, so I'm wary.

Can the fact that I have a previous account with Citi closed by them impact my chances of approval (any more so than the pure fact that the account was closed by issuer... regardless of who the issuer was) for a new card with them?

** EDIT **

Based on @TripeHound's comment below, it sounds like your past history with a given bank does in fact become a factor in the approval/denial process. I guess a simplified version of my question would be:

Having an account closed by the issuer definitely works against you in the approval/denial process. Do banks "hold a grudge"? Does it work against you even more when applying for a different card from a bank that has closed a previous account?

Source Link
Daveh0
  • 123
  • 4

Can prior credit card accounts with a specific bank affect your chances of approval for a future card with the same bank?

I had a Citi Mastercard for several years. About a year ago, I hit a couple bumps in the road and ended up having to settle with a collection agency on the account and it now shows up on my credit report as 'Account closed by issuer' (or something similar). In this past year, I've repaired my FICO score a bit and got current on all my other accounts. Credit Sesame is telling me I have "very Good" odds of being approved for a new Mastercard, also from Citi. I obviously don't want the ding from a hard inquiry AND get declined, so I'm wary.

Can the fact that I have a previous account with Citi closed by them impact my chances of approval (any more so than the pure fact that the account was closed by issuer... regardless of who the issuer was) for a new card with them?