Skip to main content

Timeline for Is SuperUser for IBM/PC only?

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 26, 2015 at 18:31 comment added tinlyx I agree the intent is good, to scope to a finer degree. It obviously has its downsides as well. I find it interesting that you and others may find the scope of this site easy to see. To me, it is the outcome of "design by error". The result can be sometimes pleasantly good, such as the python language. I hope that will happen. Again, this distinction based on mobile vs. PC may well be necessary. But I doubt that there is much of a reasoning other than the argument of "openness" raised in the other answer, which is itself on shaky grounds. If we had PCUser vs MobileUser.com, I can still think.
May 26, 2015 at 17:53 comment added James Mertz @tinlyx whether this distinction is reasonable at all yes I do believe that this is reasonable and necessary. Super User came from roots of "anything goes" and now that we've clarified a little, it's helped to raise the quality of questions. The reasoning for being more 'narrow-minded' isn't really narrow-mindedness but rather scoping to a finer degree and then sticking to that scope. I actually find it refreshing personally as I can easily see what the scope of the site is.
May 26, 2015 at 17:33 vote accept tinlyx
May 26, 2015 at 17:32 comment added tinlyx Technically, I don't think mobile OSes are not that different from PC ones, considering the complexity of modern mobile OSes and lack of complexity in early PC OSes such as DOS. What you summarized about mobile OS being off-topic, I agree, may be the status quo. My question though, was, whether this distinction is reasonable at all. Personally, I found it rather arbitrary.
May 26, 2015 at 17:28 comment added tinlyx Thanks for the classification of historical development. What you quoted is what I perceived about superuser.com. Meanwhile, I also have the feeling that the SE websites are becoming more narrow-minded. Every site, beginning from StackOverflow, is becoming better at rejecting questions, often without a clear solution how these traditional acceptable question should be answered. Re-directed questions are at times re-directed elsewhere. No one seems to care about these outcast questions that much.
May 26, 2015 at 16:44 history answered James Mertz CC BY-SA 3.0