Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 23, 2015 at 10:48 comment added Oliver Salzburg @harrymc: Worth a shot
Jun 23, 2015 at 8:21 comment added harrymc Evidently not enough. Idea: The Help Center should become a wiki, so the community could improve itself, with editing being an earned privilege. Should I post it?
Jun 23, 2015 at 7:12 comment added Oliver Salzburg @harrymc: Wow, this post has grown huge. Yeah, it sounds reasonable to put some guidelines about when downvoting is appropriate into the help center. I'm not too familiar with the current content though. Maybe some page covers it already.
Jun 23, 2015 at 6:56 comment added harrymc @OliverSalzburg: As moderator, please see my edit to my post.
May 26, 2015 at 14:08 comment added harrymc "without knowing the intention of the downvoter" - I think my option 1 takes care of it.
May 26, 2015 at 9:30 comment added Oliver Salzburg @harrymc: If I extrapolate whatever stats I have now, it wouldn't really make any difference. If I had 10 times the posts and 10 times the downvotes, then I'd probably also have 10 times the rep. So I don't see the relevance. You have, by far, the most rep in this community. Hearing such a concern coming from you makes it really hard to take seriously. That being said, if it was coming from someone with only 50 rep and 2 posts on the site, my response would be exactly the same.
May 26, 2015 at 9:20 comment added Karan @harrymc: Look, all I'm saying is it seems unfair to freeze only downvoting on old posts while allowing upvoting, as your option 2 recommends. Why go on enjoying the positives forever while conveniently preventing people from voting down after X years? If we must freeze voting on old posts (and I'm not at all convinced we do), it must be a complete freeze and not partial. Even that seems to me though to be inherently against the basic nature of SE. Option 1 is ok by me though, as stated previously.
May 26, 2015 at 9:14 comment added harrymc Oliver Salzburg is 5 years on SU, same as me, with 741 answers. I have amassed 4,091 answers in 5 years, 9 months, and I feel exposed. @Karan, 2 years, 11 months and 1,175 answers, if you continue answering at that rate, in a few years you will find yourself in my situation, so better don't argue too strongly against it. You could both do multiply statistically your number of downvotes by my years and number of answers to better understand my situation. In a few years time, you and others will have the same problem as me now, so maybe it's better to look now for a solution than later.
May 26, 2015 at 8:06 comment added Karan "Who cares if it's an old question?" - Agree completely. Also, people often upvote and even sometimes accept answers in a hurry without always trying them out themselves (and when they do, might never return to change their vote). People think it sounds good and will probably work, they upvote. Someone comes along years later who's still dealing with old systems and actually implements the 'solution' and it fails. What then? Why should they not be allowed to leave appropriate feedback on the answer?
May 26, 2015 at 7:56 history answered Oliver Salzburg CC BY-SA 3.0