Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

So I'll make another proposal - a synthesis of existing proposals.

A community wiki question, following the lead of 'What to do if my computer is infected by a virus or a malware?What to do if my computer is infected by a virus or a malware?'.

""" Which Linux Distribution should I use?

This question is coming back often, in slightly different forms, so this faq attempts to provide the composite answer.

I want to try Linux on my computer, which distribution should I use?

I have a current machine and want an easy to use distribution: links to answers - including Ubuntu :-)

I have a 2004 era machine (Pentium 4, 1GiB memory): links to answers

I have a 2000 era machine (Pentium 3, 256 MiB memory): links to answers

I want a distribution using cutting edge/bleeding edge programs: links to answers

As it is community wiki, feel free to edit this question to improve it as well.

"""

Each answer would be a single distribution, with minimum requirements, links to the distribution vendor, and any highlights. Historical version minimum requirements could be included, where the versions are still supported.

So I'll make another proposal - a synthesis of existing proposals.

A community wiki question, following the lead of 'What to do if my computer is infected by a virus or a malware?'.

""" Which Linux Distribution should I use?

This question is coming back often, in slightly different forms, so this faq attempts to provide the composite answer.

I want to try Linux on my computer, which distribution should I use?

I have a current machine and want an easy to use distribution: links to answers - including Ubuntu :-)

I have a 2004 era machine (Pentium 4, 1GiB memory): links to answers

I have a 2000 era machine (Pentium 3, 256 MiB memory): links to answers

I want a distribution using cutting edge/bleeding edge programs: links to answers

As it is community wiki, feel free to edit this question to improve it as well.

"""

Each answer would be a single distribution, with minimum requirements, links to the distribution vendor, and any highlights. Historical version minimum requirements could be included, where the versions are still supported.

So I'll make another proposal - a synthesis of existing proposals.

A community wiki question, following the lead of 'What to do if my computer is infected by a virus or a malware?'.

""" Which Linux Distribution should I use?

This question is coming back often, in slightly different forms, so this faq attempts to provide the composite answer.

I want to try Linux on my computer, which distribution should I use?

I have a current machine and want an easy to use distribution: links to answers - including Ubuntu :-)

I have a 2004 era machine (Pentium 4, 1GiB memory): links to answers

I have a 2000 era machine (Pentium 3, 256 MiB memory): links to answers

I want a distribution using cutting edge/bleeding edge programs: links to answers

As it is community wiki, feel free to edit this question to improve it as well.

"""

Each answer would be a single distribution, with minimum requirements, links to the distribution vendor, and any highlights. Historical version minimum requirements could be included, where the versions are still supported.

Post Migrated Here from meta.stackexchange.com (revisions)
Post Made Community Wiki
Source Link
Douglas Leeder
Douglas Leeder

So I'll make another proposal - a synthesis of existing proposals.

A community wiki question, following the lead of 'What to do if my computer is infected by a virus or a malware?'.

""" Which Linux Distribution should I use?

This question is coming back often, in slightly different forms, so this faq attempts to provide the composite answer.

I want to try Linux on my computer, which distribution should I use?

I have a current machine and want an easy to use distribution: links to answers - including Ubuntu :-)

I have a 2004 era machine (Pentium 4, 1GiB memory): links to answers

I have a 2000 era machine (Pentium 3, 256 MiB memory): links to answers

I want a distribution using cutting edge/bleeding edge programs: links to answers

As it is community wiki, feel free to edit this question to improve it as well.

"""

Each answer would be a single distribution, with minimum requirements, links to the distribution vendor, and any highlights. Historical version minimum requirements could be included, where the versions are still supported.