Skip to main content
replaced http://meta.stackexchange.com/ with https://meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hintsPrettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlightingthis post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Consider this questionthis question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?
Source Link
pepoluan
  • 1.3k
  • 6
  • 4

Adding 'language-highlighting' tag to a question, necessary?

Consider this question.

I provided an answer with a bash script. I did remember to add embedded Prettify language hints. The highlighting didn't get turned on. Then I found this post on Meta SE explaining changes to syntax highlighting.

So I edited the question to add the [bash] tag. Now I'm wondering:

  1. Is that a good idea, adding a tag when the question doesn't explicitly limit the solution?
  2. Is adding a tag really necessary to turn on syntax highlighting? Remember that I've peppered my answer with language hints.
  3. The 'preview' of Q & A (prior to tag-change being approved) still didn't show syntax highlighting. Is that by design?