Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 17, 2014 at 19:01 comment added fixer1234 I agree that getting an answer that clearly solved the problem checkmarked provides valuable information for others. If I see an old question with answers but no acceptance, I wonder if perhaps the answers weren't good and the question could be put to bed with a better one. If I see an accepted answer, it is clear that the existing answer actually solved the problem.
Oct 17, 2014 at 18:48 comment added Tetsujin I appreciate your comment, though perhaps my line of reasoning wasn't clear [even to myself] - picking up points for a good answer wasn't my motivation; clearing of old 'useless' Q/A & promoting of 'good' Q/A was my intention.
Oct 17, 2014 at 18:43 comment added fixer1234 Only the OP can decide whether that is the answer that satisfies them, which is the meaning of the checkmark (not that it is the right answer). A different answer might be the right one for someone else. If the OP leaves a comment like, "Thanks, that's the exact answer I was looking for and it solved my problem", and then doesn't checkmark it and disappears from the site, I could see an argument for a mechanism to award the credit. If the answer is just in the comments, somebody would need to convert it to an answer. Then I suppose the same accreditation logic could apply.
Oct 17, 2014 at 18:31 history answered Tetsujin CC BY-SA 3.0