Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 22, 2010 at 18:01 history migrated from meta.stackexchange.com (revisions)
Feb 22, 2010 at 4:13 comment added Diago Firstly let's just say it's no my website. It's Jeff site, I am simply a moderator. Secondly the policy is in no way ambiguous. You can't ask question regarding the use of websites, games, smart-phones or non computer equipment. I do not which to repeat my answer I have posted on this, however the point is that we defined this based on the wants of the Super User community and Jeff, the former is not well represented on MSO. Furthermore with exception to web applications, there are already Stack Exchange sites handling the other topics, which means there is no need for them to be on SU.
Feb 22, 2010 at 2:18 comment added NoCatharsis @Diago, I think you may have missed my point. My answer pertains to the definition of your website's purpose and acceptability of content. I do not contend that a large number of posts are accepted - clearly 800 out of 30,000 is a pretty good acceptance rate - but that there is a degree of ambiguity in the quoted acceptance policy (how else has this thread become so popular so quickly if not for a good amount of us being confused enough to post here?). Do you disagree that some inconsistencies could be derived from the acceptance policy quoted above?
Feb 22, 2010 at 2:04 comment added NoCatharsis @Lance, yes I agree you have to draw the line somewhere, but I believe the line they have drawn is under-defined and there are inherent contradictions within the current stated acceptability of SU discussions. I don't have any problem with moderating in the way that the moderators do, insofar as they clearly define their purpose and limitations. However, right now their definition of what is acceptable and unacceptable is very nebulous. That point alone is proven by the popularity and controversy started by this thread.
Feb 20, 2010 at 10:24 comment added Diago I review the statistics after reading your answer, and as I mentioned in my answer, the questions and topics we are not allowing makes up 1% of the questions asked on Super User. More specifically around 800 out of 30000+ questions. I am not sure based on those figures I can agree with your answer.
Feb 20, 2010 at 8:12 comment added Lance Roberts While I don't agree with all of their policies, I don't think they were arbitrary. You can't have one site do everything. I have no problem keeping gaming questions and social networking questions out. You have to draw the line somewhere.
Feb 20, 2010 at 7:14 history answered NoCatharsis CC BY-SA 2.5