Skip to main content
18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 2, 2012 at 3:18 history edited Peter Mortensen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 49 characters in body
Jun 22, 2012 at 20:35 comment added ErikE @JourneymanGeek Remember to tag people so they get notified!
Jun 21, 2012 at 23:19 comment added Journeyman Geek Mod Oh, my issue isn't with seeking clarification on meta. My issue is wanting a fixed policy (or as i said ' a blanket ruling') on work safety. Its less a criticism than trying to suggest alternate, situation specific ways to handle the issue.
Jun 21, 2012 at 17:25 comment added ErikE @JourneymanGeek Hmmm I don't think that taking something to meta is ever wrong. I didn't want to pollute the thread. I really wanted to sound out the community rather than make it "my way over your way" right in the thread. It's incomprehensible to me why you would criticize bringing it here. It's clear from the upvotes on my question and from the upvote on my and your last two comments that the community is divided over this... so it seems to me that asking the community was appropriate.
Jun 21, 2012 at 3:56 comment added Journeyman Geek Mod I don't want to worry about who i'm going to offend if I thought my best answer might be politically incorrect.I've repeatedly linked that comic as an answer to the same question, and would have posted it if I hadn't been beaten to it. The best way to deal with this really, is on a case by case basis, as opposed to tip-toeing around for political correctness. We could probably have sorted this out with a simple comment(my workplace may find this objectionable, could we please edit this for a comment) or an edit request (or even a flag with 'other') , rather than asking for a blanket ruling
Jun 20, 2012 at 18:12 comment added ErikE Your work seriously would let you walk around calling it, out loud, the last name in the XKCD comic? If that's so, your perspective on normalcy is very different than mine. Because, to me, it's not a legit name for use at all, thus the XKCD comic is NOT a suitable answer to the question.
Jun 20, 2012 at 16:15 comment added Tamara Wijsman @TRiG: I don't have a wife, so you're obviously addressing the wrong person here. Nor do I make such assumptions, I could equally call you the same because you said wife. But who says I am male or female, who says I am straight, gay or lesbian, who says I have a relationship or not; the use of such language is way more sexist than the pointing out a he or she difference. Please, this is no place to make fun of one another. And just like ErikE, I (as in me) does not have a problem with that.
Jun 20, 2012 at 16:08 comment added ErikE @TRiG You're embarrassing yourself. Read carefully. I said "I didn't have a problem with nipple".
Jun 20, 2012 at 15:52 comment added TRiG Seriously. Your wife might see the word nipple. Oh noes! She'll be scarred for life. What sort of world do you live in? And why do you assume that everyone here is a het guy? Sexist prig.
Jun 20, 2012 at 15:52 comment added TRiG @TomWijsman. "...when you have read it through, would you approve of your young sons, young daughters - because girls can read as well as boys - reading this book. Is it a book that you would have lying around in your own house? Is it a book that you would even wish your wife or your servants to read?"
Jun 20, 2012 at 15:47 comment added TRiG @ErikE. And since when were nipples part of genitalia? (And since when were they unique to females?) As far as I'm aware, the vast majority of mammals have nipples, and they are not part of anyone's genitalia.
Jun 20, 2012 at 0:42 history undeleted Journeyman GeekMod
Jun 20, 2012 at 0:41 history deleted Journeyman GeekMod
Jun 20, 2012 at 0:14 comment added Tamara Wijsman Do you know who the majority of visitors are? There are certainly women / adolescents among them. How do you where this is significantly displayed? It could be at a school class room, at a bibliotacary, sitting with your laptop on a bench, at an internet cafe, at home where parents / wife / children can see it. In a Geeky environment, I totally agree, but think about the others. Disclaimer: I am not defending the N WORD edit, nor supporting it; but making the XKCD optional instead of forced is something that benefits everyone. Feel free to edit N back into the title if others agree...
Jun 19, 2012 at 23:23 history edited Journeyman GeekMod CC BY-SA 3.0
added 1161 characters in body
Jun 19, 2012 at 22:50 comment added ErikE Last, we are not judging intent, but effect. Anecdotal evidence about lack of offense is irrelevant. The tone of some of your words I do find objectionable. No one is bursting out giggling uncontrollably. FWIW, I thought the removal of nipple to be an overreaction, too.
Jun 19, 2012 at 22:47 comment added ErikE I didn't have a problem with nipple which is a non-body part term in several contexts, not just for bottles but also as "a short piece of pipe with threads on each end, used for joining valves." However, nub worked just as well so losing it was not that bad. As for female genitalia, you are welcome to your opinion that such words should be freely displayable at work; perhaps you will change your mind some day after encountering problems due to this practice. In the meantime, the value judgment that an objection to same is slightly bizarre is itself bizarre!
Jun 19, 2012 at 22:25 history answered Journeyman GeekMod CC BY-SA 3.0