Skip to main content
replaced http://meta.superuser.com/ with https://meta.superuser.com/
Source Link

To restate, my basic feeling is that posts on Super User must be technical to be on-topic. If a solution isn't technical, it doesn't belong, no matter how good it is.

I would say that it's very much OK to mention non-technical solutions as part of a technical answer, but the technical part has to be there*.

In the specific case of the question that led to me posting here, the non-technical solution might work for the OP, but it probably won't work for everyone. It might not transfer well to a future reader who wanted to do the same thing for different reasons. A technical solution would be more enduring, and it's the kind of thing people are trying to find when they come here anyways.

* Wording stolen from Jeff's answer to another question I askedJeff's answer to another question I asked.

To restate, my basic feeling is that posts on Super User must be technical to be on-topic. If a solution isn't technical, it doesn't belong, no matter how good it is.

I would say that it's very much OK to mention non-technical solutions as part of a technical answer, but the technical part has to be there*.

In the specific case of the question that led to me posting here, the non-technical solution might work for the OP, but it probably won't work for everyone. It might not transfer well to a future reader who wanted to do the same thing for different reasons. A technical solution would be more enduring, and it's the kind of thing people are trying to find when they come here anyways.

* Wording stolen from Jeff's answer to another question I asked.

To restate, my basic feeling is that posts on Super User must be technical to be on-topic. If a solution isn't technical, it doesn't belong, no matter how good it is.

I would say that it's very much OK to mention non-technical solutions as part of a technical answer, but the technical part has to be there*.

In the specific case of the question that led to me posting here, the non-technical solution might work for the OP, but it probably won't work for everyone. It might not transfer well to a future reader who wanted to do the same thing for different reasons. A technical solution would be more enduring, and it's the kind of thing people are trying to find when they come here anyways.

* Wording stolen from Jeff's answer to another question I asked.

Source Link
Pops
  • 8.5k
  • 14
  • 14

To restate, my basic feeling is that posts on Super User must be technical to be on-topic. If a solution isn't technical, it doesn't belong, no matter how good it is.

I would say that it's very much OK to mention non-technical solutions as part of a technical answer, but the technical part has to be there*.

In the specific case of the question that led to me posting here, the non-technical solution might work for the OP, but it probably won't work for everyone. It might not transfer well to a future reader who wanted to do the same thing for different reasons. A technical solution would be more enduring, and it's the kind of thing people are trying to find when they come here anyways.

* Wording stolen from Jeff's answer to another question I asked.